Ranking System in Kendo/Iaido

6 kyu (Roku-Kyu)
5 kyu (Go-Kyu)
4 kyu (Yun-Kyu)
3 kyu (San-Kyu)
2 kyu (Ni-Kyu)
1 kyu (Ii-Kyu) [Matches, Kata 1-3, Written Exam]

The Kyu system is mostly for kids... Adults generally test out of 6th~3rd kyu and go straight into 2 kyu (Provided that they pass the 2 Kyu exam). From 6th~3rd kyu, the student can be tested in local Dojos with proper instructor, that is someone who is San-Dan (3rd degree) or above and is a member of AUSKF.

After the Kyu system it gets a little bit more complicated as there are more stuff that you need to be aware of. The requirements are listed below the rank.

1 dan (Sho-Dan)
[3 months after becoming Ii-kyu, Match, Age:14+ Kata 1-5, Written Exam]

2 dan (Ni-Dan)
[1 year after becoming Sho-Dan, Match, Kata 1-7, Written Exam]

3 dan (San-Dan)
[2 years after becoming Ni-Dan, Match, Kata 1-7, Kodachi Kata 1-3, Written Exam]

4 dan (Yun-Dan)
[3 years after becoming San-Dan, Rest is the same as Ni-Dan]

5 dan (Go-dan)
[4 years after becoming Yun-Dan, Rest is the same as Ni-Dan]

6 dan (Roku-Dan)
[5 years after becoming Go-Dan, Match, Kata 1-7, Kodachi Kata 1-3, Written Exam, Refereeing

7 dan (Nana-Dan)
[6 years after becoming Roku-Dan, Same as above]

8 dan (Hachi-Dan)
[10 years after becoming Nana-Dan, Age 46+, Kata 1-7, Kodachi Kata 1-3, Written Exam, Thesis]

9 dan (Gu-Dan)
10 dan (Ju-Dan)

9th and 10th Dan are no longer available because there is no one alive that is of that rank. Therefore, Hachi-Dan (8th degree) is the highest you can be in terms of rank.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player